Reign after rain as India win T20i series

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma celebrate the fall of a New Zealand wicket. India’s bowlers defended a modest-looking 67 with admirable discipline as the hosts pipped New Zealand by six runs in the rain-hit third Twenty20 international in Thiruvananthapuram to claim the series 2-1.

Playing spoilsport, the rains reduced the decisive match of the series and first ever international match at Greenfield Stadium to an eight-overs per side affair.

Stroke-making was not easy under the conditions and all the hosts could manage to put on board was 67 for five, featuring only seven boundaries, including three sixes.

However, the Indian pacers and spinners bowled their hearts out in a short but exciting contest. They were well supported by agile fielders.

Awily Bhuvneshwar Kumar mixed it up nicely after being hit for a gigantic six by Colin Munro (7) while Jasprit Bumrah was splendid with his line and length.

The early wickets pegged New Zealand back and they could never settle and eventually buckled under pressure.

Brief Scores

India 67/5 in eight overs (M Pandey 17, H Pandya 14*; T Southee 2/13, I Sodhi 2/23) beat New Zealand 61/6 (C de Grandhomme 17*; J Bumrah 2/9) by six runs

Also Read: India v/s New Zealand 3rd T20I: Rain threat over series-decider in Thiruvananthapuram